Friday, November 11, 2016

DeKalb County is looking for members to serve on Audit Oversight Committee

DeKalb County
Begin Date: Friday, November 04, 2016
End Date: Friday, November 18, 2016

DeKalb County Government seeks interested County residents to serve as a volunteer on a 5-member Audit Oversight Committee as required by House Bill 599 of the Georgia General Assembly. This individual will replace a member whose 1-year term expires December 31, 2016. Individuals must meet the following requirements:

• Reside in DeKalb
• Possess expertise conducting performance audits
• Minimum five years of experience and certified in one of following - public accountant, internal or performance auditor, management accountant, or ten years other relevant professional experience
• Commit to serve a one-year term

Résumés accepted November 7 – November 18, 2016 at:

The DeKalb County Audit Oversight Committee serves to provide a platform for the oversight of the independent internal audit function of DeKalb County as requested by its citizenship and as established by Georgia State Law via House Bill 599. It is essential to the proper administration and operation of the DeKalb County government that public officials, government managers, and private citizens know not only whether government funds are handled properly and in compliance with laws and regulations but also whether public programs are achieving the purposes for which they were authorized and funded, and whether they are doing so efficiently, effectively, and equitably. Accordingly, the Audit Oversight Committee is hereby established to ensure independence and objectivity and to help ensure full transparency and accountability to the public.

(A) One member shall be appointed by the chairperson of the DeKalb County delegation in the Georgia House of Representatives;
(B) One member shall be appointed by the chairperson of the DeKalb County delegation in the Georgia Senate;
(C) One member shall be appointed by the Chief Executive of DeKalb County; and
(D) Two members shall be appointed by the Commission.

No comments: