Saturday, February 28, 2015

Dunwoody Residents Rick Callihan and Al Tiede are named to community panel to select next DeKalb School Superintendent.

Congrats to Dunwoody High School parents, Al Tiede and Rick Callihan.

Mr. Stan Jester  District 1  Rick Callihan Al Tiede
Mr. Marshall Orson District 2 Carolyn Finnerty Betty Willis
Dr. Michael Erwin District 3 Urcel Ray Fields Katherine Kelbaugh
Mr. James McMahan District 4 Michelle Penkava Al Edwards
Mrs. Vickie Turner District 5 William Boone Eliezer Velez
Dr. Melvin Johnson District 6 Lance L. Hammonds John Evans
Dr. Joyce Morley District 7 Gwen Johnson Kerwin Lee, Senior Pastor

As per the AJC: The DeKalb County school board has named the members of a community panel that will help select the district’s next leader.

Superintendent Michael Thurmond’s contract expires in June, and the board has hired the firm PROACT Search to lead the hunt for a successor. Responding to pressure from residents, the 7-member school board is also empanelling a 16-member community liaison group.

PROACT will find 20-25 candidates, and the community group will recommend anywhere from nine to a dozen of them to the board, according to the plan to be presented at the board’s work session Monday afternoon. The board will then whittle the list to two to four candidates to be put through an extended interview process.

No comments: